All Hallow’s Read – Night 1

20150927_191052

October 1st 2015

I’m starting my All Hallow’s Read tonight. I’ve been looking forward to this since I ordered the book the other day. I’m not a big fan of horror any more. I want to see if it can still chill me like it did when I was a teenager. Back then, I went through a Lovecraft phase as well as enjoying some of the books by King, James Herbert and Shaun Hutson – anyone remember ‘Slugs’?…

‘Hell House’ by Richard Matheson arrived in the post today. It was published in 1971. It’s the book that kept popping up on the lists of best horror stories I was checking. That and King’s ‘The Shining’, which I haven’t read either. Maybe next year.

20151001_184207

I’ve avoided reading about the details of ‘Hell House’. All I’ve found out is that it’s rated as one of the best haunted house stories out there. Also the author, Richard Matheson, is often said to have been unfairly neglected in comparison with King. Have you read any of Matheson’s works?

The moon is suitably atmospheric tonight. I can hear the chirping of crickets, and the net curtain is gently breathing in and out. It’s time to begin.

Leave a Reply

