The Peripheral (2014) by William Gibson

It’s the middle of October and I’m waiting for my next “All Hallow’s Read” book to arrive, which gave me time to finish William Gibson’s latest novel, The Peripheral. I picked up a copy when I was over in Manchester in August. It was part of a “buy-one-get-the-other-half-price” deal at Waterstones, and my other choice was The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell.

I’ve read most of Gibson’s novels before, starting with Neuromancer (1984) when I was a teenager. (Can’t believe it was published over 30(!) years ago. That makes me feel old.) I skipped the other two novels that make up the Sprawl trilogy, and got back into him with 1993’s Virtual Light. Since then I’ve read all of his works except The Difference Engine, the latest ones being the Blue Ant trilogy.

The Peripheral is not an easy read. Gibson makes you work with this book, throwing you in at the deep end and expecting you to keep up with his style and invented language. There are no explanations, you’re just there in the middle of this world which feels strange yet familiar. You could liken it to a form of time travelling, or eavesdropping in on a dream from another dimension. The opening line is:

      “They didn’t think Flynne’s brother had PTSD, but that sometimes the haptics glitched           him.”

Wow! What a start. This could put a lot of people off, but I instantly wanted to know more. What are “haptics” and why do they “glitch” him?

Well, I’ll leave it to you to discover it for yourself because I want to keep this review spoiler-free. This book isn’t perfect, and as I’ve already mentioned it requires the reader to work through it. But I believe that ‘work’ is very rewarding. Sometimes it’s good not to have an instruction manual. That way, you can put the story together in your own original style. Highly recommended.

One thought on “The Peripheral (2014) by William Gibson

  1. I really enjoyed this one, but yeah, it does require some “work.” Or at least some trust in the author that it will all make sense in the end. It’s like the meaning of the jargon just floats to the top when it’s most important. It’s a neat trick.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

