Titus Groan (1946) by Mervyn Peake

“Gormenghast, […] the shadows of time-eaten buttresses, of broken and lofty turrets, and, most enormous of all, the shadow of the Tower of Flints. This tower, patched unevenly with black ivy, arose like a mutilated finger from among the fists of knuckled masonry and pointed blasphemously at heaven. At night the owls made of it an echoing throat; by day it stood voiceless and cast its long shadow.”  -One of Peake’s descriptions of Gormenghast Castle

Art by Mark Robertson

 

 

Mervyn Peake’s Titus Groan is the first novel in the Gormenghast series. It was published in 1946. It tells the story of the Groan family and their servants, and it is set in the sprawling Gormenghast castle. The head of the family is Lord Sepulchrave, the 76th Earl of Groan. His wife, the Countess Gertrude, lives in a different part of the castle with a large collection of cats and birds. They have a teenage daughter, Fuchsia, and Titus is their newborn son.

It’s difficult to categorise this book. Wikipedia has it labelled as “Gothic”, and describes the book as “the first fantasy of manners.” It is often referred to as “fantasy” but it is not a traditional fantasy in the vein of Tolkien or LeGuin. It’s a story of castle intrigue, of ambition and madness, of familial relationships and jealousies. It could be interpreted as a social commentary on the British class system of the time, looking at the us-and-them interactions between the haves and have-nots. Whichever way you interpret it, it remains a work of vivid imagination written by a very visual artist who was painting fantastic pictures with words instead of paints. There are many beautifully detailed descriptive passages throughout this book.

“The crumbling castle, looming among the mists, exhaled the season, and every cold stone breathed it out. The tortured trees by the dark lake burned and dripped, their leaves snatched by the wind were whirled in wild circles through the towers. The clouds mouldered as they lay coiled, or shifted themselves uneasily upon the stone skyfield, sending up wreaths that drifted through the turrets and swarmed up hidden walls.”

 

Art by Mervyn Peake

Peake was a gifted wordsmith and created some very unique and memorable characters. These inhabitants of Gormenghast Castle are some of the oddest fictional people you are likely to meet, and they have been given such wonderful names: Rottcodd, Steerpike, Mr. Flay, Swelter the cook, Doctor Prunesquallor, Nannie Slagg, Sourdust, Barquentine and Bellgrove. There are often comparisons made with Dickens, especially regarding the characters’ names and their caricatured personalities. One of my favourite characters is Doctor Prunesquallor:

 

 

“Prunesquallor, as urbane as ever, had nevertheless something in his fish-like eyes that might almost be described as determination. One glance at his sister was sufficient to make him realize that to attempt to reason with her would be about as fruitful as to try to christianize a vulture.”

 

He is very funny. The unique way he talks and his mannerisms are brought to life in Peake’s writing. This is something I was surprised about in this book, the humour. The interplay between the characters had me laughing out loud at times.

“‘Aha!’ said Prunesquallor, stroking his smooth chin, ‘a comfortable stream, is it? Aha! v-e-r-y good. V-e-r-y good. Dawdling lazily ‘twixt hill and hill no doubt. Meandering through groves of bone, threading the tissues and giving what sustenance it can to your dear old body. Mrs Slagg, I am so glad.”

 

Marcus Sedgewick wrote a great article on Titus Groan in the Guardian. Here’s a quote from it: 

“Titus Groan was ahead of its time. Furthermore it was, and remains, very, very strange indeed. This was why it blew me away at the age of 15 – I had never read anything so weird, and I loved it for that.” -Marcus Sedgewick

Art by Mervyn Peake

This is a wonderful book and comes highly recommended if you are looking for something a bit different. It sat on my shelf for years before I finally read it. Unlike Sedgewick, I don’t think I would have appreciated it as much if I’d read it when I was a teenager discovering Tolkien. I am just glad I finally dusted it off and got lost in Peake’s world.

 

It also contains this line which stuck in my head the most out of so many memorable ones:

“Something to remember, that: cats for missiles.”

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Titus Groan (1946) by Mervyn Peake

  1. So much to love in this on. I have that “cats as missiles” line highlighted, too. You’re right that it feels Gothic, yet it doesn’t take itself so seriously. Peake’s eye for detail is stunning, his ability to conjure visuals with unique, precise metaphors is unmatched.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your *unconscious push* to read it! I wonder how readers who are expecting another Tolkienesque fantasy react to it?.. It was published 6 years before ‘The Fellowship of the Ring’ but has never achieved the same recognition.

      Incidentally, are you a fan of Tolkien?

      Liked by 1 person

      • I am a recovered fan of Tolkien, but of the generation that didn’t discover Tolkien until the movies. Actually, I think I would have appreciated Peake much more than the LOTR novels because I’ve always been drawn to the weird, dark, and absurd, even as a little girl. It seems that this would make for a better recommendation for grown up fans of Roald Dahl and almost-but-not-quite-satisfied fans of early Gaiman. Had I known about Mervyn Peake growing up, I probably would have had more satisfying reading experiences as a tween and teen. But, alas, librarians in West Texas don’t know to recommend this to little girls who keep checking out books from the juvenile Halloween shelf.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Ha ha! I hear you. Looking back at my adolescent self, I’m pretty sure Peake would have gone over my comics-and-Nintendo-obsessed head. I don’t think I would have been ready for it, if you know what I mean. But it was around that time that my brother introduced me to the Cthulhu mythos, so maybe I would’ve liked it…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s