RIP XII Challenge

I’m a sucker for a reading challenge, especially when it coincides with one of my own. The last two years in October, I’ve taken my own *All Hallow’s Read challenge (*from an idea by Neil Gaiman). I limit my October reading choices to tales of the supernatural.

Two years ago, I read Richard Matheson’s Hell House and Stephen King’s The Shining. Last year, I chose Broken Monsters by Lauren Beukes, Bag of Bones by King, again, and Nightmare Magazine#37: Queers Destroy Horror!

This year, I am joining the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XII Challenge which runs from September 1st to October 31st. Here is a link to the sign-up page.


(Taken from the sign-up page on Estella’s Revenge)

R.I.P. Challenge XII
The emphasis is never on the word challenge, instead it is about coming together as a community and embracing the autumnal mood, whether the weather is cooperative where you live or not.

There are two simple goals for the R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XII Challenge:

1. Have fun reading.
2. Share that fun with others.
Multiple perils await you. You can participate in just one, or participate in them all.

 

Peril the First:  *(Okay, I choose Peril the First!)

 

Read four books, any length, that you feel fit (our very broad definitions) of R.I.P. literature. It could be Stephen King or Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Shirley Jackson or Tananarive Due…or anyone in between.

img_3543
My Four Books are:
33292549

I recently read Cassandra Khaw’s first John Persons story, Hammers On Bone and loved it. Looking forward to this new story.

200px-full_dark2c_no_stars

I always try to fit in one book by King during autumn. This year, it’s this 2010 collection of four novellas.

26883558

This will be a re-read, as I rushed through it too quickly the first time. It deserves to be savoured.

1851b9d0fe9c26bdcbedfd4142a38534-dean-koontz-time-travel

Having never read anything by Koontz before, I’m curious to see what all the hype is about.

That’s all for now. Happy reading:)

4 thoughts on “RIP XII Challenge

  1. Woohoo! Ballad of Black Tom is my very first read for this. And I want to read Hammer’s Bone for it as well! (A Song for Quiet isn’t currently available to be shipped to me BOOOOO.) Still have to hash out the rest of the list though. Yey. I like this time of year a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cool! How many books are you thinking of reading? Yeah, apart from allergies, I love this time of year, too! In Japan, there’s a real link between autumn and reading. Can’t wait to read your posts and reviews:)

      Like

      • So I was going to go for the 4-book peril. But then I was all, oh hey it’s the 12th RIP so obviously I will read 12. Hahahahaha. Yeeeeeah. Maybe? That is my aim anyway. Really hope I manage to actually write some of those reviews. Been silent on book internet for too long now.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Retrospective for Year 2 – Nov. ’16 ~ Nov. ’17 | Who's Dreaming Who

Leave a Reply

